Weather4D 2.0

W4D20_logoFirst integrated application for marine charting navigation and weather routing with GRIB files.

Navigation :

Flagship of APP4NAV applications, Weather4D 2.0 is a navigation application all-in-one to prepare and run navigation on a variety of charts directly issued from official hydrographic services of many countries.
On a 3D graphical interface, the user can record waypoints, simulate multiple routes, combined with weather and oceanic GRIB forecasting models to optimize them in the routing module, compare them according to the selected options.
In navigation mode, the instruments display in real time progress information and can receive the external data via Wi-Fi from instruments as AIS and navigation sensors. AIS targets are displayed with icons differentiated for class A and B, as well as the AtoN and Base Stations. Programmable visual alarms (notifications) and sounds, calculation of multiple distances, AIS by Internet, are some of the advanced features of the navigation module, see the comparative table in home page.

Weather4D 2.0 supports the watch Apple Watch by synchronizing the main data of navigation from an iPhone.

Weather :

Weather4D 2.0 is based on global weather forecasts in GRIB format. Many models of meteorological and oceanographic forecasts are available, and the requests and downloads are fully configurable, see the comparative table in Home.
The application allows to create custom areas on the globe and select the characteristics of the GRIB files to download : choice of data, resolution, periodicity, file size, aso.
Weather4D 2.0 displays the data combined as overlayed layers, and allows to setup finely mode and quality of data display. All data of a selected model is displayed in continuous time scrolling animation or manual scroll on the chart, this is the 4th dimension of Weather4D. A graphic meteogram associated with the data labels is available for located targets or boat location.
Navigation and weather forecasts may appear in single or dual windows (iPad only), offering multiple display combinations for the same area : navigation and weather, weather forecast and waves or currents forecasts, comparison of different models. Dual windows can be dissociated for display of the same area at different scales.
The GRIB files are accessible to the open sea by satellite phone, either via Saildocs (GFS model only) or for direct download with Iridium GO!™ (all forecast models).

Routing :

Weather4D 2.0 routing module to optimize sailing or boating routes, or mixed sailing-motor. From a theoretical route, a motorboat routing will take into account constraints true wind speed and waves height for comfort and security optimization. Sailing, a polar speed diagram associated with wind and currents forecasts will be used to optimize performance, comfort and safety.
Several routes can be displayed to compare the results of different options : different forecast models, dates and times of departure, selected constraint values.
Routing can be resumed at any time during navigation from the actual position of the boat.

Basic version :

Weather4D 2.0 comes standard with the GFS global forecast model at 0.25 °, 0,5° and 1.0 °, and two world maps : Satellite (BING) and OSM (Open Street Map).

Options :

Weather models NAM, COAMPS, WRF (USA), GEM (Canada), ARPEGE, AROME, AROME HD (Meteo-France), as well as patterns of waves WW3 global and Europe (FNMOC) and currents MyOcean world, Biscay-Iberian-Irish, Baltic, Mediterranean (Mercator Ocean), are supplied in a single pack available by annual subscription (in-app purchase).

Charting :

Weather4D 2.0 supports only many national hydrographic offices from official raster maps. They will get on the chart server Geogarage that offers a wide choice and keeps constantly updated. Charts are subject to an annual subscription for each publisher. Currently available are :

  • SHOM (France/DOM-TOM/Polynesia, International)
  • UKHO (United Kingdom, dependencies, International)
  • VLAAMSE (Belgium)
  • BSH (Germany)
  • NLHO (Nederland)
  • DGA (Denmark)
  • NHS (Norway)
  • ICG - HD (Iceland)
  • NAVIMAP/IIM (Italy)
  • NOAA RNCs (USA)
  • CHS (Canada)
  • WAVEYLINE (Bahamas)
  • DHNV (Venezuela)
  • DHN (Brazil)
  • SHN (Argentina)
  • AHS (Australia)
  • LINZ (New Zealand)

 

The display method “in tiles” allows a very fluid moving from a scale level to another by zoom in / zoom out.

Use

iPad 2 and later, iPhone 4S and later, supporting iOS 9 and later. The function “SplitView” (the screen-sharing), to display two applications at the same time, is active only on the iPad Air 2 and later. “SplitView” allows to use Weather4D 2.0 while viewing the multimedia tutorial in iBooks, or even predictions of the tides in Maree.info or AyeTides XL.

NOTE : Weather4D 2.0 single or dual screen mode is available with all iPad models.

Pricing

  • Weather4D 2.0 with GFS model included, Global Open Street Map and Satellite Map. Price : 54,99 €
  • Option : all additional GRIB models, weather high resolution and ocean, single subscription 12 month : 37,99 €
  • Marine Charts : annual subscriptions. Examples : SHOM 60 €, UKHO 70 €, NOAA 3,49 €, aso…
  • Tutorial multimedia (French) iBook Navigation & Routage Météo avec Weather4D 2.0 free.
  • iBook User Guide (English) Navigation & Weather Routing with Weather4D 2.0 for free.
iPad
iPhone

apple_watch

Weather4D 2.0

W4D20_logoPremière application intégrée de navigation cartographique maritime et de routage météo par fichiers GRIB.

Navigation :

Navire amiral des applications de APP4NAV, Weather4D 2.0 est une application de navigation tout-en-un permettant de préparer et suivre des navigations sur un grand choix de cartes marines issues directement des services hydrographiques officiels de nombreux pays.
Sur une interface graphique en 3D, l’utilisateur peut enregistrer des waypoints, simuler de multiples routes, les combiner aux modèles de prévisions météo et océaniques GRIB pour les optimiser dans le module de routage, les comparer selon les options sélectionnées.
En mode navigation, les instruments affichent les informations de progression en temps réel et peuvent recevoir les données externes provenant en Wi-Fi des instruments du bord tel AIS et centrale de navigation. Les cibles AIS sont affichées avec des icônes différenciées pour les Classe A et B, ainsi que les AtoN et les Stations de Base. Alarmes visuelles (notifications) et sonores programmables, calcul de distances multiples, AIS par internet, sont quelques unes des fonctions avancées du module navigation, voir le tableau comparatif en page Accueil.

Weather4D 2.0 supporte la montre Apple Watch en synchronisant les principales données de navigation depuis un iPhone.

Météo :

Weather4D 2.0 est basée sur des prévisions météorologiques mondiales au format GRIB. De nombreux modèles de prévisions météorologiques et océanographiques sont proposés, et les requêtes et téléchargements sont entièrement paramétrables, voir le tableau comparatif en page Accueil.
L’application permet de créer des zones personnalisées sur la planète et de sélectionner les caractéristiques des fichiers GRIB à télécharger : choix des données, résolution, périodicité, taille du fichier, etc.
Weather4D 2.0 affiche les données combinées sous forme de calques superposés, et permet de définir finement le mode et la qualité d’affichage de chacune des données. L’ensemble des données d’un modèle sélectionné est visualisé par une animation en défilement temporel continu ou en défilement manuel sur la carte, c’est la 4e dimension de Weather4D. Un météogramme graphique associé aux étiquettes de données est diponible pour des cibles sélectionnées ou la position du navire.
Navigation et prévisions météo peuvent s’afficher dans une ou deux fenêtres (iPad uniquement), offrant plusieurs combinaisons d’affichage d’une même zone : navigation et météo, prévisions météo et prévisions de vagues ou de courants, comparaison de modèles différents. Les deux fenêtres peuvent être dissociées pour un affichage de la même zone à des échelles différentes.
Les fichiers GRIB sont accessibles au grand large par téléphone satellite, soit via Saildocs (modèle GFS seulement) ou en téléchargement direct avec Iridium GO!™ (tous les modèles de prévisions).

Routage :

Le module de routage de Weather4D 2.0 permet d’optimiser des routes à la voile ou au moteur, ou mixte voile-moteur. A partir d’une route théorique, un routage moteur prendra en compte des contraintes de force de vent et de hauteur des vagues pour une optimisation de confort et de sécurité. A la voile, une polaire de vitesse combinée aux prévisions de vent et de courants sera utilisée pour une optimisation de performance, de confort et de sécurité.
Plusieurs routes peuvent être affichées pour comparer le résultat de différentes options : modèles de prévisions différents, dates et heures de départ, valeurs choisies de contrainte.
Le routage peut être relancé à tout moment de la navigation à partir de la position effective du bateau.

Version de base :

Weather4D 2.0 est fournie en standard avec le modèle de prévisions mondiales GFS à 0,25°, 0,5° et 1,0°, et deux cartographies mondiales : Satellite (BING) et OSM (Open Street Map).

Options :

Les modèles météo NAM, COAMPS, WRF (USA), GEM (Canada), ARPEGE, AROME, AROME HD (Météo-France), ainsi que les modèles de vagues WW3 Mondial et Europe (FNMOC) et de courants MyOcean Mondial, Iberian-Biscay-Irish, Baltic, Méditerranée (Mercator Ocean), sont fournis dans un pack unique disponible par un abonnement annuel (achat in-app).

Cartographie :

Weather4D 2.0 supporte uniquement les cartes raster officielles issues des nombreux services hydrographiques nationaux. Elles s’obtiennent sur le serveur cartographique Geogarage qui en propose un large choix et les maintient à jour en permanence. Les cartes sont soumises à un abonnement annuel par éditeur. Les éditeurs actuellement disponibles sont :

  • SHOM (France/DOM-TOM/Polynésie, international)
  • UKHO (Royaume-Uni, dépendances, international)
  • VLAAMSE (Belgique)
  • BSH (Allemagne)
  • NLHO (Nederland)
  • DGA (Danemark)
  • NHS (Norvège)
  • ICG-HD (Islande)
  • NAVIMAP/IIM (Italie)
  • NOAA RNCs (USA)
  • CHS (Canada)
  • WAVEYLINE (Bahamas)
  • DHNV (Venezuela)
  • DHN (Brésil)
  • SHN (Argentine)
  • AHS (Australie)
  • LINZ (Nouvelle-Zélande)

 

La technique d’affichage “en tuiles” permet un passage très fluide d’un niveau d’échelle à un autre par agrandissement / Réduction.

Utilisation

iPad 2 et ultérieurs, iPhone 4S et ultérieurs, supportant iOS 9 et ultérieur. La fonction “SplitView” (partage de l’écran), permettant d’afficher deux applications en même temps, n’est active que sur les iPad Air 2 et ultérieurs. “SplitView” permet d’utiliser Weather4D 2.0 tout en consultant dans iBooks le tutoriel multimédia, ou encore les prédictions des marées dans marée.info ou AyeTides XL.

NOTE : L’affichage de Weather4D 2.0 en mode simple ou double écran est disponible sur tous les modèles d’iPad.

Tarifs

  • Weather4D 2.0 avec modèle GFS inclus, planisphère Satellite et Open Street Map mondiales. Prix : 54,99 €
  • Option : tous les modèles GRIB supplémentaires, météo haute résolution et océaniques, abonnement unique 12 mois : 37,99 €
  • Cartes marines : abonnements annuels. Exemples : SHOM 60 €, UKHO 70 €, NOAA 3,49 €, etc…
  • Tutoriel multimedia (Français) iBook Navigation & Routage Météo avec Weather4D 2.0 gratuit.
  • iBook User Guide (English) Navigation & Weather Routing with Weather4D 2.0 for free.
iPad
iPhone

apple_watch